#britishflowers

I know it isn’t January anymore, but only just, so I’m counting it as not too late. I tend to role a little behind the times anyway, I’m currently watching the first series of the x-files which first started back in the 1993…so I’m being relatively with it by now discussing something that aired on BBC2 two weeks ago. I am talking of course of the ‘The Great British Garden Revival’.

20140131-173243.jpg

I’m still training within this wonderful world of flowers and botanics, so my ideas and who I want to be within the industry are still evolving and flexible, but, at the risk of sounding pretensions, the program inspired me, and solidified the fact that I would like to be a florist who wholeheartedly supports the British cut flower industry.

20140131-173415.jpg

The growing and cultivation of flowers is something that most florists seem to have forgotten, it’s certainly not something I’ve been taught. Florist and gardener have become separated when once they were one in the same. Of course a main reason for this being that many florists are such major operations that supplying everything you would need for even one job yourself, and to the standard required, would be impossible for most. We are therefor, very understandably, reliant on our suppliers, who will find us anything and everything we want with the ping of an email. However there is something in me that finds seeing tropical leaves in my local hair dresses in December, and peonies in a November wedding somehow lacking in integrity.

20140131-203729.jpg

Having lived down in Wiltshire for most of my life I’m used to seeing the seasons changing around me and taking advantage of it; gathering mountains of frothy Queen Anne’s Lace in May, bright yellow handfuls of daffodils in March, ad bare branches to cover in fairy lights and ivy during the winter. Not having such clear distinctions in my professional work I find disconcerting and there is little talk of it during my training.

20140131-204024.jpg

I would love to see a greater focus on seasonality and provenance develop among our florist communities, and see the passion of the florists and growers within ‘The Great British Garden Revival’ grow. Our British seasonal flowers have the most ridiculous beauty, a beauty that I fear becomes taken for granted if it is available to us all year round. I want to believe in British flowers and all things seasonal. It’s the way the world of food is turning, and I always follow my stomach; very much hoping that the world of flowers will follow.

20140131-204423.jpg

So, to my New Years resolution; I resolute that as By Bethany grows I will commit the company to sourcing British seasonal blooms for our work as far as is possible. I want to join the flower revolution…and I hope you might be inspired to do so too. I’ll keep you updated on how I get on.

(Images: outline.com, telegraph.co.uk, commonsensehome.co.uk, thewecompany.com, puddle-cottage.com)

Leave a Reply

