Stop and Smell the Roses

Life is so incredibly hectic that I often find myself passing though a day without ever stopping and being in the present. I’m constantly looking at, anticipating, and worrying about what might be coming next, or, milling over and regretting events in the past.

Hardly ever do I seem to be in the moment.

This is something I’ve recently been trying really hard to take note of and rectify. See here.

IMG_2328.JPG

IMG_2329.JPG

My mum brought herself a book on Mindfulness a couple of months ago, something I have to admit, I originally scoffed at. This was until I realised that I was struggling towards their principles myself. I just prefer calling it, ‘Stopping to Smell the Roses’.

I looked into it, and the facts are undeniable; Mindfulness (Stopping to Smell the Roses!) improves wellbeing, and increases ones capacity to lead a satisfied life….now who doesn’t want that!

It isn’t a magic wand that will suddenly make life’s problems go away, it’s not advertised as such, however, it does help me to savour the pleasures, and joys that life brings as they are unfolding.

It helps me stop and take that breath, which in turn allows me to appreciate the beauty surrounding me, and how lucky I am.

And it’s not just me. Mindfulness has now been proven by scientists to improve both physical and mental health.

Using Mindfulness techniques has been shown to help relieve stress, treat heart disease, lower blood pressure, reduce chronic pain, improve sleep and alleviate gastrointestinal symptoms.

 

On a psychological level it has been shown to aid depression, substance abuse, eating disorders, anxiety disorders, and obsessive-compulsive disorders, among others.

I’d love to know if you’ve tried Mindfulness and if you found it helpful?

If you ‘re interested and want to learn more you can find a great book, here.

Find some time to stop and smell the roses today. Breath in through your nose, relax, and breath out deeply through your mouth. Blow all that negativity away and focus on yourself for one moment in your day.

Hope you’re having a great week.

(Images – by the gorgeous Rubelle)

Leave a Reply

