Appreciate your Hands

A little bit of hand love goes a long way…

  
…and if you’re dealing with flowers regularly, you really should take the time to care of them properly.

Despite looking delicate and fragile, the actual process of dealing with your flora and fauna is far from it. Not only are you constantly exposing them to the elements, dipping them in and out of water, pricking them or errant thorns, and giving them rubs from wiring, but certain flowers and foliage also actively irritate the skin. You can nearly always spot them because the majority seep white, watery sap and are often winter or spring flowering.

The main culprits are: 

  • Hyacinths
  • Daffodils 
  • Hellebores 
  • Tulips
  • Iris 
  • Bluebells 
  • Ivy (careful while doing you Christmas decorations) 
  • Euphorbia 
  • And,one not for the main list but that can also be very irritating is eucalyptus, especially if you get in your eyes. I get very irritated skin on the back of my hands if I handle eucalyptus too much  

All you need do to avoid irritation is be diligent with these particular plants, wash your hands regularly, and moisturise, moisturise, moisturise! 

I have always been lover of hand cream, and religiously apply it as part of my bed time routine, so it was an easy step into always having a tube of my favourite, nourishing balm to hand when I’m working. It’s also become an essential in my tool box when I’m out preparing for events or am in the garden. 

I’m quite picky when it comes to my hand creams. My main stipulation being that they must absorb fast without leaving a greasy film over my palms. This is partly because I need to be able to pick up my often fiddly work where I leave off, but also because I really don’t like the sensation! So these are my favourites. 

The two best I have found are L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream (here), it’s thick, luxurious and smells amazing and Liz Earle Super Skin Hand Searum (here) which is far lighter in its initial look and feel but is just as nourishing, and I love the addition of rose hip oil which gives it an extra anti ageing punch. 

Both are indulgent, rich, nourishing, and most significantly, they protect the most important tools of my trade wonderfully. 

One thought on “Appreciate your Hands

  1. flevey says:

    So true! Hands also age like the face does so moisturising is another weapon in the anti ageing battle. Not to be neglected. Glad to hear your recommendations because greasy hand cream is the pits.

Leave a Reply

