Flower of the Month – Dahlia 

I have a confession to make. 

There was a time when I really didn’t like dahlias.

I have since seen the errors of my ways, but still tend to be very picky about what I like and what I don’t. However, when faced with the stunning collection in this secret garden, nobody could help but fall desperately in love.

IMG_2627IMG_2632IMG_2634

I now believe dahlias to be the perfect flower for lazy gardeners like me. They are relativly low maintaince, but have a very high production rate of the most rediculously luscious blooms…what more could you ask of a plant!? 

As long as you continue to dead head them, then they will continue to flower. Their life time is also massive, spanning from June to late November, and they essentially come in every colour and shape you could possibly imagine. There are apparently 15 different groups under the genes dahlia, and 50,000 varieties world wide!

IMG_2644

IMG_2649

IMG_2651

Native to Mexico, where it is now the National Flower, the tubers of the dahlia (which are a type of bulb) were grown as food by the Aztecs. They are thought to be the reason that despite being from a hot climate originally, they can also thrive in our, ever so slightly cooler British weather.

IMG_2653IMG_2659IMG_2669IMG_2680

They love any spot that gets the sun, and as long as the soil is well fertilised, and ideally well drained they’re pretty happy.

The golden tip I gain from the chap that grows these stunners was just that, fertilise, fertilise, fertilise.

IMG_2698

IMG_2702

IMG_2735
IMG_2727IMG_2918

Plant your tubers in March, or once the first frosts are over, at a depth of 10-15cm.

IMG_2765IMG_2767

IMG_2771

IMG_2772

IMG_2744IMG_2877IMG_2816

As dahlias can grow to truly incredible heights they are prone to flopping about a bit, and are easily damaged in high winds, you may therefore need to spend a little extra time while planting them to insert some stakes. I like to use natural sticks rather than bamboo stakes. I just think they look nicer.

IMG_2850

IMG_2875

IMG_2962

IMG_2969

IMG_2972

IMG_2976

IMG_2989

End of the story is, you need to get some dahlias in your life!

Which is your favourite?

Images – Louisa Grew

4 thoughts on “Flower of the Month – Dahlia 

  1. Diane says:

    Hello! I planted 6 plants this past spring of different dahlias. They did very well here in Ontario Canada. I bought them as a plant in a pot. Do I need to dig them up this fall and replant them next spring? Someone told me that if you buy them as plants that that type won’t come up the following year. That you have to buy them as bulbs and plant them. Is this true?
    Love your blog!
    Diane

    • By Bethany says:

      Hi Diane! I have to say that I’m not 100% sure, but I don’t see any reason why they wouldn’t come up being shop brought. I have reared mine in pots before planting with no issue. I bring them up in winter to protect them from frost and replant in the spring, but I know lots of people don’t bother and simply buy new. I’d love to know your results! So glad you like the blog! xox

Leave a Reply

